SCA:: practice report- 2/5 accountability

It has been raining for 5 days straight, so practice was iffy to begin with. I set a reminder to bring vambraces as I am still blocking longsword shots with my arms.  I made it to practice after work, to discover I did not bring the rest of my gear (gorget, gloves, mask, rapiers… those were in the other bag). Grumpily, I headed home.

So that the evening wasn’t a complete waste, I settled for an hour long drill session. And pushed myself harder than I have in a very long time. I worked on uncomfortable sword strikes and complex footwork patterns. I turned up the speed until I became inaccurate in technique and then dialed down to quick, but controlled.

I feel much more comfortable with krumphau, sturzhau, and fontale. I am working on my elbow not speaking. My wrist cuts are getting smoother and smaller. I am pushing more and more into being uncomfortable.

Working with a mirror allows me to see when I am getting sloppy or allowing the technique to slip.  I can see when I cheat the cuts.  I can stop mid stroke and start the cut again from the top, making micro adjustments as I go. I am working on fluidity of movement and footwork. Other aspects of the inner space are coming together as well. I may not have practiced against people, but I feel like there was progress in the forward direction.

Accountability = missed practice, drilled effectively and with purpose, and practice reported on both aspects. Also completed a reading assignment and subsequent report (blarg). Next time, I’ll double check equipment before heading out for the day.

 

Leave a comment