HEMA:: practice report & month end 1/31

Last Tattershall practice of the month. I’ve been attending for 4 weeks.  We’ve covered some Fabris and some tournament prep for SoCal Swordfight.

Class- We’ve been working on stance, balance, gaining the blade, footwork, second, fourth, and lunging. I started playing with a blade that is about 3″ longer than my normal sword. This changed my range and I was consistently 3″ too close. By the end of the practice, I had started to get into proper measure.  The other thing that I noticed is as I have been working at home over the month, my lunges have improved.  And I can lunge a lot further than I gave myself credit for. So I have a lot of work to do to adapt my range and change tempo.

Tournament- prep has been split between longsword and rapier alternating weeks.  Last night was the first time I was able to fight with steel against people other than an instructor, because I had all my equipment (woo).  The jacket is hot and constricting (and needs a better zipper). But not as bad as it was when it first arrived. I fought in the deep end of the longsword pool. One match went to the point count before time. One match went to time before the point count. 1:30 is a long time.  I ended up losing both matches, but I was not an easy fight.  I’m still cheating my cuts, which is making me less effective than I could be. I learned where I need to adjust my equipment.

After class was open to free play, I got some 1:1 time to work on  krumphau and sturzhau.  This was  difficult as I was physically tired and almost mentally full. But patience on my and instructors parts, and we both got through it.

Take-a-ways & small wins

  • Im not afraid to fight in the deep end.
  • I am not intimidated by fighters that I know are better than I am.
  • I can find the Void MUCH easier than I ever could the abyss.
  • I like who I am after I am done fighting.
  • I have more endurance to fight and am not getting winded.
  • I have a longer lunge that I give myself credit for.
  • I’m keeping up and adapting week over week.

Things to work on:

  • Yes the jacket is stiff and I had problems with extensions.  DO NOT CHEAT THE CUTS, Panda.
  • Krumphau- windshield wipers
  • Sturzhau- Frontale with a sword and a cut.
  • Flashcards of cuts, wards, and what gets broken. I need to solidify the vocabulary.

I am going through a significant growth spurt. I get new assignments and homework each practice.  It’s been a lot of information. My coach/es keep pushing, and I keep  pushing with them. It’s what we all signed up for. So far I’ve been keeping up. I just need to remember patience.

Leave a comment