SCA:: practice report & month end 1/29

This was my last SCA rapier practice for the month. We had 20 or so fighters come out.  I was able to fight a number of new to me people. It was a mix of C&T and unarmored.

I felt comfortable enough with how I was fighting to challenge for the Knight. I fought Maestro Lot best 3 of 5, C&T longsword.  I won one pass, cleanly.  He won one pass cleanly.  I conceded one pass after being armed, because fighting armed with weapons not balanced for single hand combat is dumb.  All in all I am super happy with how the fight went. I fought calmly, with stability and balance, and clean technique. I found the void and left the field in joy and not anger.

I fought people that were below my skill level and was able to dial down accordingly.  I fought people at or above my skill level and was able to dial up accordingly.  I worked on all the things we have been putting into my brain space. I continued to leave the list in a calm joy. The month started out as a drunk baby giraffe.  It’s ending less so.

15 practices/classes/private instruction “in mask”.  30 minutes x 30 days of skill & drill. Month highlights and small wins:

  • Changed balance points
  • Changed fight perception/approach
  • Changed perception on the tajo/revese.
  • Added new footwork patterns
  • Added new master works
  • Added new concepts of body positioning and lines
  • Added new weapon forms
  • Corrected lazy cutting habits
  • Corrected lazy SCA habits

It’s just the tip of the iceberg.  But I finally think I can see the potential that others have been telling me is there. I was on a plataeu for almost 2 years.  But I had to be frustrated enough that I wanted to change, and seek out the help that has been offered since I moved.

2 thoughts on “SCA:: practice report & month end 1/29

Leave a comment